Skip to main content
AMZBooking

Airport transfer · JFK → Manhattan

JFK to Manhattan

Share

JFK to Manhattan

In short

The cheapest way from JFK to Manhattan is AirTrain JFK + subway (E train from Jamaica): $11.75, about 50–55 min.

The fastest is AirTrain JFK + Long Island Rail Road (from Jamaica), about 30 min for $14–$16.

A licensed taxi costs $70 per vehicle, before extras.

Fares and times are from the operators’ own pages, checked 23 October 2026.

Data updated

Every way from JFK to Manhattan

Journey times are to Midtown Manhattan (Penn Station / Grand Central / Times Square area). Fares are standard adult fares as each operator publishes them.

Cheapest

AirTrain JFK + subway (E train from Jamaica)

$11.75 · 50–55 min

Fastest

AirTrain JFK + Long Island Rail Road (from Jamaica)

30 min · $14–$16

Late at night

  • AirTrain JFK + subway (E train from Jamaica)
JFK to Manhattan: every option compared
OptionJourney timeFare (USD)Hours
AirTrain JFK + subway (E train from Jamaica)Metro / subway50–55 min$11.7524 hours
AirTrain JFK + Long Island Rail Road (from Jamaica)Train30 min$14–$16Not stated
Yellow taxi (flat fare to Manhattan)TaxiNot stated$70 per vehicleNot stated
Uber Shuttle (shared, booked in the Uber app)ShuttleNot statedVariesNot stated
Uber / LyftRideshareNot statedVariesNot stated

Travelling as a group: train or taxi?

Per-person fares add up; a taxi fare is shared. The table shows the total for one to four travellers.

Total cost for a group, JFK to Manhattan
Option1 traveller2 travellers3 travellers4 travellers
AirTrain JFK + subway (E train from Jamaica) †$11.75$23.50$35.25$47
AirTrain JFK + Long Island Rail Road (from Jamaica)$14$28$42$56
Yellow taxi (flat fare to Manhattan) *$70$70$70$70

Lowest published adult fare × travellers; a per-vehicle fare is shared (up to the vehicle’s seats). * Plus the extras listed for that option (tolls, surcharges or tip). † The operator sells a group fare, so a group pays less than shown — see the fare details below. Children’s fares and passes can be lower.

Which New York airport is easiest for Manhattan?

The same comparison from each airport, so you can weigh the ground trip when you pick flights.

Into Manhattan from each New York airport
AirportCheapestFastest
JFK (this page)$11.75 · 50–55 minAirTrain JFK + subway (E train from Jamaica)30 min · $14–$16AirTrain JFK + Long Island Rail Road (from Jamaica)
Newark (EWR)$17.25 · 37–50 minAirTrain Newark + NJ Transit train to New York Penn Station37–50 min · $17.25AirTrain Newark + NJ Transit train to New York Penn Station
LaGuardia (LGA)$3 · Not statedFree LaGuardia Link Q70 bus + subway (E, F, M, R or 7)—

The options in detail

Metro / subway · Port Authority of NY & NJ (AirTrain JFK) + MTA New York City Transit (subway)

AirTrain JFK + subway (E train from Jamaica)

Route
Terminals → AirTrain to Sutphin Blvd–Archer Av–JFK Airport (Jamaica) → E train → Midtown (Penn Station / Grand Central area). Alternative: AirTrain to Howard Beach → A train (Far Rockaway-bound trains only; Lefferts Blvd-bound A trains do not connect).
Journey time
50–55 min
How the time is measured
Port Authority's stated approximate journey times for this trip: about 50 min to Penn Station and about 55 min to Grand Central Madison by E train. The source does not say whether waiting time or the AirTrain ride is included. MTA says the subway runs local overnight, so allow extra time at night.
Fare
$11.75
Fare details
$11.75 = $8.75 AirTrain fare (charged when you enter or exit the Jamaica or Howard Beach AirTrain stations) + $3.00 subway fare. Pay by tapping a contactless card, phone or wearable, or with an OMNY card. Unlimited-ride passes are not accepted on AirTrain. AirTrain is free for children under 5. AirTrain group fare with OMNY: $8.75 for the first rider plus $4.50 for each extra rider, up to 5 riders and $26.75 in total (all must tap within 5 minutes). AirTrain also has a 30-day cap of $43.50.
Hours
AirTrain runs 24 hours a day, 7 days a week (per its operator, Alstom). The subway runs overnight but local, so allow extra time.
Frequency
AirTrain: every 5–15 minutes (Port Authority AirTrain page). Subway frequency not stated by official sources fetched.
Luggage
AirTrain allows strollers, luggage carts, baggage and small pets in carriers. MTA warns travellers to expect crowded vehicles and stairs.
Accessibility
All AirTrain trains and stations are ADA-compliant, and both Jamaica and Howard Beach have wheelchair-accessible subway connections. MTA marks both subway options as accessible trips.
Good to know
The Port Authority recommends mass transit because JFK redevelopment construction is delaying road traffic throughout 2026. Sources show no last-updated date, apart from MTA's 'Updated October 13th' banner, which gives no year.

Verified on: Port Authority of NY & NJ (JFK Airport) · Port Authority of NY & NJ (JFK Airport) · MTA · MTA · Alstom (AirTrain JFK operator), press release 1 April 2025 · Port Authority of NY & NJ (JFK Airport)

Train · Port Authority of NY & NJ (AirTrain JFK) + MTA Long Island Rail Road

AirTrain JFK + Long Island Rail Road (from Jamaica)

Route
Terminals → AirTrain to Jamaica → LIRR train to Penn Station or Grand Central Madison
Journey time
30 min
How the time is measured
Port Authority's stated journey time of 'approximately 30 min' by LIRR between JFK and Midtown (Penn Station or Grand Central Madison). The Port Authority also says the LIRR train between Penn Station/Grand Central and the AirTrain at Jamaica takes 20 minutes. Waiting time is not stated.
Fare
$14–$16
Fare details
$14.00 off-peak or $16.00 peak = $8.75 AirTrain fare + LIRR CityTicket ($5.25 off-peak, $7.25 peak). Peak fares apply on weekdays to trains scheduled to arrive at NYC terminals 6–10 a.m. or leave them 4–8 p.m. Buy LIRR tickets from station machines, ticket desks or the TrainTime app before boarding: buying on the train adds a $7.75–$8.50 surcharge. On the LIRR, children under 5 ride free and child tickets are half the adult fare; up to 4 children aged 5–17 ride for $1 each with a paying adult (Family Fare). AirTrain is free for children under 5.
Luggage
AirTrain allows strollers, luggage carts, baggage and small pets in carriers.
Accessibility
All AirTrain stations are ADA-compliant, and the Jamaica LIRR station is ADA-accessible. MTA marks this as an accessible trip.
Good to know
Every LIRR branch except Port Washington runs through Jamaica, but not every train stops there. MTA suggests sitting near the front of the train to be closer to the AirTrain at Jamaica. The Port Authority calls the subway or LIRR 'the best option' while construction continues at JFK.

Verified on: Port Authority of NY & NJ (JFK Airport) · Port Authority of NY & NJ (JFK Airport) · MTA · MTA (LIRR & Metro-North fares) · Port Authority of NY & NJ (JFK Airport)

Taxi · NYC TLC-licensed yellow taxis (official taxi stand at each terminal)

Yellow taxi (flat fare to Manhattan)

Route
Terminal taxi stand → any address in Manhattan (flat fare applies to the first stop)
How the time is measured
No official source states a taxi journey time from JFK to Midtown.
Fare
$70 per vehicle
Fare details
The $70 flat fare excludes surcharges, tolls and tip. The TLC adds: $0.50 MTA State Surcharge, $1.00 Improvement Surcharge, $2.50 NYS Congestion Surcharge (south of 96th St), $0.75 MTA Congestion Relief Zone toll (south of and including 60th St), and a $2.00 airport access fee on JFK pickups. That makes $76.75 before tolls and tip. On weekdays 4–8 p.m. (not legal holidays) there is also a $5.00 rush-hour surcharge, making $81.75. Tolls and tip are extra; the TLC says tips are added to the fare. There is no charge for extra passengers, bags or paying by card. The meter should read 'Rate #2 - JFK Airport'.
Luggage
The TLC says there is no charge for luggage or bags.
Good to know
The flat fare covers the first stop only; extra stops in Manhattan are metered as a new trip. Taxis cannot be e-hailed at the airport, so use the official taxi stand. The Port Authority warns that JFK construction may slow pickups. Its JFK taxi page lists '$2.75–$8.50 in additional fees', which does not match the TLC's itemised surcharges; the TLC figures are used here.

Verified on: NYC Taxi & Limousine Commission · Port Authority of NY & NJ (JFK Airport)

Shuttle · Uber (vehicles run by third-party fleet partners)

Uber Shuttle (shared, booked in the Uber app)

Route
JFK Terminal 4 / Terminal 5 arrivals → fixed Manhattan routes, including Times Square (48th St & 7th Ave), 42 St (Port Authority at 42nd St & 8th Ave; Grand Central at 42nd St & Lexington Ave), Penn Station (34th St & 7th Ave, on the Greenwich Village route) and Hudson Yards/Garment District/Koreatown (Kips Bay route)
How the time is measured
Uber's page states no journey time.
Fare details
Uber publishes no fixed price: the upfront price is shown in the app and varies with origin, departure time, booking time and promotions. Riders aged 2 and over need a ticket; one child under 2 per guardian rides free.
Luggage
1 piece of luggage up to 45 lb (20.5 kg) plus 1 personal item per rider. Extra bags need an extra seat.
Accessibility
For a wheelchair-accessible vehicle, call the fleet partner on 718-221-5341 at least 24 hours ahead; the fare is the same. Service animals are allowed; pets are not.
Good to know
Book up to 3 days ahead, for up to 5 seats. The Madison Square Garden route runs Thursday–Sunday until 31 October 2026. The Port Authority describes 'two routes serving Midtown and Downtown Manhattan', but Uber's own page lists more.

Verified on: Uber (operator) · Port Authority of NY & NJ (JFK Airport) · Port Authority of NY & NJ (JFK Airport)

Rideshare · Uber, Lyft

Uber / Lyft

Route
Signed Ride App Pick-Up areas → Midtown
How the time is measured
No official journey time is published.
Fare details
The Port Authority says prices vary with location, time of day and surge pricing. Check the app.
Accessibility
Uber and Lyft offer accessible vehicles (wheelchair ramps, extra space). Accessible pickups stay at the curb.
Good to know
During construction, ride-app pickups for Terminals 5 and 7 have temporarily moved to the Howard Beach AirTrain station. Follow the signs after baggage claim and check that the licence plate matches the app.

Verified on: Port Authority of NY & NJ (JFK Airport)

Search flights to JFK

Trip type

No AMZBooking booking fee. Book with the provider you choose. How we make money

Not verified yet

Taxi journey time from JFK to Midtown: no official source states one. · Tolls on the taxi route (e.g. Queens-Midtown Tunnel): the TLC says tolls are extra but gives no amounts for this route. · LIRR hours and train frequency at Jamaica toward Penn Station / Grand Central Madison: not stated on the pages fetched. · E/A subway frequency: not stated on the pages fetched. · AirTrain JFK hours: the Port Authority AirTrain page gives none. '24/7' comes from the operator's (Alstom's) 1 April 2025 press release. · AirTrain frequency: the Port Authority page body says every 5–15 minutes; the same page's FAQ says every 5–10 minutes (between terminals). · Uber Shuttle price per seat, hours, frequency and journey time: Uber's page does not publish them. · Rideshare prices and times: no official figures. · Shared-van services (Airlink New York, ETS Air Shuttle) and car services (Carmel, Dial 7): the Port Authority lists them as authorised but gives no prices. · NYC Express Bus (formerly NYC Airporter) JFK–Manhattan coach: not listed by the Port Authority, and its operating status was not verified. · Port Authority JFK taxi page says '$2.75–$8.50 in additional fees', which conflicts with the TLC's itemised surcharges ($6.75 off-peak, $11.75 weekdays 4–8 p.m., for a JFK pickup to Midtown).. We only publish a figure once an official source states it.